The darkness before the dawn. By, Carissa Rogers Henry

I hope I don’t get into trouble for re posting this blog, but it was shareable on Facebook and other social websites.

I feel that Carissa has written in a most meaningful way some of her feelings about the aftermath of divorce. Therefore I felt compelled to share the link with you.

Carissa Rogers Henry is a recently divorced mother of two who works as a high school librarian in Trenton, GA. She has a degree in English and Secondary Education from Lee University, a master’s degree in Library and Information Studies from the University of Alabama, and an Ed.S. degree from Lincoln Memorial University. When Carissa is not checking out books or running after her children, she enjoys capturing the world through the lens of her camera, devouring local rock shows, and seeking inspiration to write.

The Darkness before the Dawn..

Our relationship had become weathered and worn by time, until that last little bit of goodness between us had eroded away as though it were a natural part of life. So after much reflection and consideration, we decided to end our marriage.

Because we agreed to remain amicable and on good terms for our two children, I assumed that this divorce would be easier than the messy divorces we witnessed over the years. We vowed to work together to be good co-parents and still collaborate on all things involving the children — just from two different households. We planned to set a new precedent for divorce and do it in a way that few have done it before, defying the odds and modeling a noteworthy example. Essentially, I thought I had it all figured out, and in the recesses of my mind, I had painted a landscape of ease and civility. I was going to master divorce in the same way I mastered college-level British Literature, with a zealous A+.

But I was not prepared for what happened in the months that followed. I had no idea how much it would hurt when the wave of sadness and reality finally came crashing down on me. Out of nowhere, I unexpectedly found myself lost, grief-stricken, and emotionally struggling to stay afloat. I thought I was mentally equipped and ready for this divorce, yet I was suddenly falling apart. There were a few things I wish I’d known about divorce before I faced it and a few things I’ve learned thus far: TO READ MORE, CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/carissa-henry/divorce-the-darkness-befo_b_2156589.html

 

About Tovah

Certified Substance Abuse and Addictions Professional, (CASAP) Although retired I still do voluntary work in my profession. For many years I've been a natural health enthusiast, using natural remedies and eating healthy natural organic food. I'd like to share some of my experiences about growing Organic Vegetables in small spaces, indoors and out.
This entry was posted in Guest Post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The darkness before the dawn. By, Carissa Rogers Henry

  1. kelihasablog says:

    Good post… Many of us post-pone our grief until later… Unfortunately though, it is something that we eventually have to go through/face if we are to honestly have a vital and happy life again. (Just my opinion) 😀

    • Tovah says:

      Yes I believe your very right Keli. Even though I’d done a lot of work on myself before my divorce I had just as much to do afterwards. Blessings!

  2. Hi Tovah,
    Thanks for the like today. But I don’t know if you know, but I have a new blog. It’s http://www.tracycampbell.net/blog and a website – http://www.tracycampbell.net
    I’d love for you to join up again.
    Hope all is well.
    Tracy 😀
    It appears I’m having problems trying to comment from my new blog. Your blog is only allowing me to comment from the old one. Technology! Ugh!

  3. kelihasablog says:

    Really good article Tovah… Sorry it took me so long to respond…

    • Tovah says:

      Thanks Keli. I think it’s time I wrote more on this blog. I’ve been busy writing for other blogs. Hopefully this week. Blessings.

  4. Hi Tovah, don’t be afraid of reposting blogs, they’re out there and the original blogger wouldn’t knock back the publicity.
    Cheers
    Laurie

    • Tovah says:

      Thanks Laurie. I really have to find time to get my own blogs out here! But you’re right. A good blog should not be passed up! Blessings.

Love to hear what you have to say...

