From Crappy to Happy

The other night I watched the film ‘Eat Pray Love‘ starring Julia Roberts. I’d heard different reviews about the film, but my own thoughts were of total appreciation for what this young woman was going through. I remember asking myself those questions: who am I, where am I going, and what am I doing!

Anyway in one scene, I saw that Liz was in a book shop and picked up a book called ‘Crappy to Happy‘ I thought “well yeah, that’s a pretty good name for a, how the hell do I pick myself up and get back on the road to what?” kind of book,  So hence the name of my blog too!

http://www.amazon.com/Crappy-Happy-Small-Steps-Happiness/dp/1590030257

When I was in the throe’s of my divorce, everyone kept saying  “just have faith” everything will work out for the best. I knew somehow that it would, but how can I just have faith? Easier said than done, right?

Most of my life I’d been going through the motions and rituals of my religion. I went through life struggling, fighting, debating, wheeling  and dealing, begging to get what I wanted from God….Needless to say that didn’t work…. besides why should I have faith and trust in a God that seemed to be constantly punishing me? Heck NO!!

Then one day a good friend and very wise person said that “I should think of  God, a Higher Being, the Universe, H/she, Good Orderly Direction, whatever name I wanted to use,  in terms that I can accept and understand. So I started to make my list of human characteristics, that was my only compass, that I would accept in a Power greater than myself. The list of course, no matter how complete, would be incomplete or my understanding wouldn’t be of an infinite being.

The bottom line was that the God of my understanding became loving instead of punishing. That was a revelation! A great weight was lifted off me, as I suddenly realized that I wasn’t in charge or in control of the world,  not even most people in my own little world, places and situations.

In my last post Why We Should Live Like Water and Live with Ease, so succinctly written by: http://lessonsfromtheendofamarriage.com  it describes how we go with the flow.

Instead many of us will try to manipulate a situation through perhaps dishonest, self-seeking ways. We need to begin to go with the flow of the river, the flow of nature, the energies of the universe.

That doesn’t mean we’re left without choices, after all we have free will, but we can choose a path, walk the road to the best of our ability and leave the results up to our Higher Being. If we don’t get that fantastic job that we’ve always wished for, believe me it’s for a reason, maybe something better is planned for you, or you are being saved from some pending disaster.

Now it’s time to set aside ALL of your old ways of thinking. To be aware of our  character traits that can lead us into trouble, by being dishonest, manipulating, arrogant, impulsive, self-seeking, and intolerant. We can learn to use our better traits, such as honesty, tolerance, loving kindness, patience, learn to sit back   go with the flow, and above all have faith. Become aware,  begin to see the truth in all that happens to us and around us to be in the place where we’re meant to be.

None of this happens overnight: it takes practice like riding a bicycle. Ask yourself, if the way you have been living your life is really working for you? If the answer is “it’s not”  then what have you got to lose. We have to do our part to the best of our ability, and leave the outcome to God.

Believing in God is not enough! To gain acceptance, strength and courage to move forward and reach our goals, we have to have faith and trust in God as we would in a good friend. These feelings build over time, as we seize opportunities with courage, as we see the results of how our life progresses. Any feelings of loneliness and despair will start to disappear.  Fear of people and insecurities about ourselves change too.  Our whole outlook on life changes as we see God of our understanding, working in our lives.

After all, as human beings, we’re not just made up of physical matter but a huge part of us is made up of the spiritual. Without spiritual fitness we can all fall into  the darkness of despair and hopelessness. I call it the ‘Abyss.’ Traveling our  journey from a living hell, to a peaceful serenity is very simple, yet very challenging and scary in itself, but you can do it. I did, and if what I share with you here, what worked for me, then it just might work for you.

Pray or meditate to keep focused on the power that’s helping you. Just do your best, keep asking for the courage and strength to do what you need to do!

I’ve seen many people come through the most horrendous tragedies, illness, addiction, accidents, death of loved ones, and divorce. They are all recovering and continuing their journey through life feeling happy, joyous, and free and most of all they share a feeling of  peace and serenity.

Serenity comes when we can enjoy each moment with gratitude, secure in the knowledge that we are being taken care of.

About Tovah

Certified Substance Abuse and Addictions Professional, (CASAP) Although retired I still do voluntary work in my profession. For many years I've been a natural health enthusiast, using natural remedies and eating healthy natural organic food. I'd like to share some of my experiences about growing Organic Vegetables in small spaces, indoors and out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Crappy to Happy

  1. Haven’t seen the movie or read the book, perhaps I shall.

    I like your blog name!

    Having faith is easier said than done. But faith is believing in God. We can’t see Him, but we know He is right there walking by our side.

    You’re right, we can’t bargain, wheel or deal our way through life.

    You have a wise friend. God is loving and not a punishing God. But is He also a Father. And like our earthly father, He does discipline us, not punish us. If we learn from our mistakes we’ll be better people.

    Have a wonderful week, Tovah.

    • Your right! We are very fortunate people if we can feel
      G-d walking our path with us. I often wonder atheists mange to go through life. I don’t know if I could do it.
      Have a fantastic and blessed week too Tracy.

Love to hear what you have to say...

